Feeding the Baby – Mushroom and Ground Turkey Lettuce Wraps

27 Apr
Mushroom and Ground Turkey Lettuce Wraps

Mushroom and Ground Turkey Lettuce Wraps

My Facebook feed is rampant with babies. Every third post is either a photo of a half-naked cherub in a bubbly bathtub or or a disturbing account about dirty diapers. I’m not sure when it happened, but at some point in the recent past, most of my friends got together and decided it was time to get pregnant. Not in the same room or anything…you know what I mean.

I don’t want to sound bitter or put off. No one loves cute pictures of fat, rosy-cheeked babies in cuddly onesies with eared hoods that make them look like teddy bears more than me. No one! I giggle every time. It’s true – this influx of kidlets has softened me, especially since my best friend and her husband are welcoming their first child in early fall.

I’ve known Kristin since the summer before our freshman year of high school. She was one of the oldest kids in our class, and I was the youngest, so she was constantly carting my ass around before I had a license. We were roommates at Marquette, and afterwards, in our first two Chicago apartments. I was there the night she met her husband Colin, and I stood up next to her at their wedding. Sometimes when a song comes on the radio that reminds us of each other, we’ll text the lyrics back and forth. We’ve had a lot of great times together, and we’ll have a lot more. I adore her, and I already adore their baby.

Kristin is about as big around as a sewing needle, so when she told me that she already had a baby bump, I had to see it for myself, and I had to feed it. She and Colin came for dinner last week. I wanted to make something healthy for the mommy-to-be, and since I was also feeding Colin and Jon, it needed to taste not-healthy. These mushroom and ground turkey lettuce wraps did the trick. I used extra lean ground turkey, seasoned with tamari, cilantro, fish sauce and other goodies. The meaty filling was so flavorful that you’d never know that there was barely any fat in the dish. Served with a side of veggie-heavy rice and pickled cucumbers, it made a light but satisfying meal that I’ll certainly make again.

And because I do want to make it again, I’m typing it out here so that I don’t forget what I did. If only I would have typed out the events of some of those college nights with Kristin, we might remember them a little better, too. But baby doesn’t need to know about his (or her) mama’s wild younger days. Those memories live in our minds, not in the internet.

Mushroom and Ground Turkey Lettuce Wraps

Serves 6.

1 tablespoon vegetable oil
8 ounces crimini mushrooms, cleaned and finely chopped (about 3/4 cup)
1/3 cup finely diced red onion
3 tablespoons minced garlic
3 tablespoons grated fresh ginger root
1 pound 99% lean ground turkey
1/4 cup tamari (or regular soy sauce, if you have that on hand)
2 tablespoons Sriracha hot chili sauce
2 teaspoons fish sauce
1 cup finely chopped fresh cilantro
2 tablespoons fresh lime juice (from 1 lime)
2 small heads bibb lettuce, leaves separated, washed, and dried
1/2 cup chopped peanuts
Additional lime wedges to serve

Heat the oil in a large nonstick skillet. Cook mushrooms and onions over medium heat until the water that is released from the mushrooms evaporates. Add garlic and ginger root and cook one minute more. Add the ground turkey to the skillet, breaking it into small pieces with a spatula. Stir in tamari, Sriracha, and fish sauce. Cook until the turkey is lightly browned  and the sauce is slightly reduced, about 5 minutes. Stir in cilantro and lime juice. Cook for 1 minute. Pile meat and mushroom mixture into a bowl. Stuff bibb lettuce leaves with the mixture. Top with chopped peanuts and a sprinkling of lime juice. Some like it hot , so keep the bottle of Sriracha at the ready, too.
One Response to “Feeding the Baby – Mushroom and Ground Turkey Lettuce Wraps”

  1. Joanne April 28, 2012 at 6:54 am #

    I keep seeing pregnant women everywhere and it’s killing me a little inside! I want a baby pretty badly. But first and foremost I want a husband pretty badly. Hmm.

    I love that this is so healthy delicious so i don’t even need to be eating for two in order to happily devour it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 11,858 other followers

