Urban Gardening Part 2

23 Jun

There is some truly beautiful veg coming out of the backyard garden already.

Just a couple of days ago we discovered that there is a small grapevine winding its way in and out of a trellis back there. It was pretty exciting to see big bunches of unripened grapes hanging off of it. If anyone would like to offer up wine-making tips, I’m all ears.

Jon is working these into our dinner tonight.  Carrots, baby zucchini, and young garden beans. I’m beginning to realize that the term “victory garden” might have had a double meaning; all of these vegetables in the yard are a definite WIN!

Image

 

 

3 Responses to “Urban Gardening Part 2”

  1. Angie June 23, 2012 at 7:49 pm #

    Love your blog. Did you create it yourself? I’m looking into WordPress too. All social Media. Want to get into the management field.

  2. Hot Pink Manolos June 25, 2012 at 10:47 pm #

    That’s so cool! I love my apartment but I dont have a terrace or anything to try and grow something. I’m thinking about doing some window planters with herbs, but it bums me out that I can’t do anything more exciting.

    • Beth Somers June 26, 2012 at 10:07 pm #

      This is the first place I have lived in that had any decent space for planting, and it is absolutely the best part of the apartment. Before, I stuck to herbs and lettuces in pots. I’d stash them wherever they would get enough sunlight. Definitely do window planters – it’s so rewarding, and you’ll have fresh herbs whenever you want them for a fraction of the price of buying at the grocery!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 11,857 other followers

