Almost-Homemade Biscuits

19 Jan

I’ve had a bag of Hidden Acre Farm’s Southern Snow Biscuit Mix in my pantry for a few months. It was a gift from a test kitchen freelancer whom I’ve worked with a lot. (Whom? Who? Who cares…there are biscuits on the table.) The possibility of a productive Sunday fizzled hours ago, and I’ve wanted to eat nothing but breakfast foods all day long, making it a perfect opportunity to test this stuff.

I don’t purchase many baking mixes. I make most of my baked goods from scratch. It helps me justify the $40K I spent on pastry school, you know? But this one came to me from a food pro whose family owns a pecan farm in South Carolina, where Hidden Acre Farm is located.  Plus, I give this woman a paycheck once in a while. She wasn’t going to give me bad biscuit mix.

There are only four ingredients listed on the packaging: winter wheat flour, calcium phosphate (an acid that is a part of baking powder), baking soda, and salt. Winter wheat flour is soft and has a lower protein content than regular all-purpose flour, making it ideal for tender, light biscuits.

Lots of southerners swear by White Lily Cake Flour for making biscuits. It is also made from winter wheat flour, like the Hidden Acre Farm mix. Southerners hoard White Lily though. It’s not sold nationwide, so we Yanks just don’t get it. I’d love to do some test kitchen experiments, using it to make biscuits  alongside this Hidden Acre Farms mix to see which flour reigns supreme.

Hidden Acre Farm Biscuits with Butter and Raspberry Jam

It’s pretty hard to believe that White Lily, or any other flour or recipe, could top this Hidden Acre Farms mix. They came together in mere seconds, with just the addition of heavy cream. I brushed mine with a splash of melted butter before baking because I’m a sucker for a crunchy top that gives way to a soft, delicate inside. These are everything a homemade biscuit should be – tall, golden and irregular outside, and downy inside. They’re perfect in their simplicity.

My Google research isn’t finding Hidden Acre Farms mixes for purchase online, but maybe if we all like their Facebook page, and ask really nicely, that will change.  If you’re near Rock Hills, South Carolina, consider yourself lucky.  You can get your hands on this mix at Moments In Time and The Peach Stand. Stock up.  Send me a few. If you really want to make my day, throw in a bag of White Lily. Biscuits, for all my friends!

6 Responses to “Almost-Homemade Biscuits”

  1. peppylady (Dora) January 19, 2014 at 7:53 pm #

    Looks like someone took there time and did up some home preservers. Yesterday I made cream cheese cookies.
    Coffee is on

    • Beth Somers January 19, 2014 at 9:27 pm #

      I would love to take credit for the preserves, but it is actually also part of the South Carolina farms gift package as the biscuit mix. It’s a really great seedless jam, and I’ve been spreading it on everything for the past few weeks.

      Love cream cheese cookies, especially with coffee!

  2. Stacey January 19, 2014 at 9:48 pm #

    Those biscuits look awesome. Yum!!

    I live about as far north as you can get and still be in the US, so I can’t find White Lily around here either (and I had never even heard of Hidden Acre Farms before I read your post). I’ve heard really good things about King Arthur ‘Perfect Pastry Blend’ flour though – lots of people say it’s a good substitute for White Lily – and it is available online: http://www.kingarthurflour.com/shop/items/king-arthur-perfect-pastry-blend-3-lb

    • Beth Somers January 21, 2014 at 7:53 am #

      Thanks! I’ll check out the King Arthur. I’ve liked all of their other products I’ve tried.

  3. Bek Mugridge January 19, 2014 at 10:45 pm #

    Ooh pastry school must have been incredible!

    • Beth Somers January 21, 2014 at 7:49 am #

      It was, especially since it led to my dream job (after several years of long hours and terrible pay in bakeries). Best decision I ever made! Thank you for reading!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 11,852 other followers

