Baked Eggs with Bacon, Squash, and Kale Hash

26 Jan

I eat almost the exact same thing for breakfast every day of the work week. In the colder months, it’s oatmeal with whatever dried fruit i have in the pantry and a sprinkling of toasted nuts. When the weather warms, I change over to yogurt and granola with fresh fruit, with the occassional change-over from yogurt to kefir, which is…drinkable yogurt. Pretty boring, right? But when I need to get out the door quickly )because I’ve overslept  again, and then idled too long in the shower’s warmth, and forgotten that I needed to pack my bag for yoga after work), these breakfast standards are easy and reliable, and I actually really never get sick of eating them.

Baked Eggs with Bacon, Squash, and Kale Hash

But on the weekends…I’m a sucker for a good breakfast. In my mind, going out for brunch is the ultimate urban luxury, and I do it as often as possible, but I can’t justify spending $20 for a couple of eggs and a plate of fried potatoes every single Sunday. Even if the eggs are fresh out of the happiest, most organic, free range chicken that ever lived, with yolks the color of sunshine and laughter. It’s just not in my best financial interest to indulge  my brunch habit weekly.

So today, I made my own brunch and there wasn’t a fried potato in sight. It cost way less than $20, and I got to eat it sitting on the couch with my favorite guy while watching cartoons for grown ups. It was luxurious in its own way.

Tomorrow, I’m back on oatmeal.

Baked Eggs with Bacon, Squash, and Kale Hash 

2 strips bacon, finely diced
1 butternut squash, peeled and cut into 3/4 inch pieces
1 large onion, diced
2 cups torn kale leaves
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 tablespoon fresh thyme leaves
2 teaspoons fresh minced sage
salt and pepper
6 large eggs
1 tablespoon freshly grated parmesan cheese plus additional for serving

Preheat the oven to 400°F.

Cook the bacon in a skillet over medium heat until it is crispy. Using a slotted spoon, transfer the bacon to a paper towel-lined plate and set aside. Reserve 1 tablespoon of bacon grease and discard the rest.

Toss the squash, onion, and kale with the garlic, olive oil, 1 tablespoon of bacon grease, thyme, sage, and a generous amount of salt and pepper until everything is well coated. Divide onto 2 parchment-lined baking sheets and roast, rotating the pans and stirring the vegetables after 15 minutes. Continue roasting until the squash is fork-tender, 10 to 15 minutes longer.

Spray an 7 x 11 baking pan with cooking spray. Transfer the vegetables into the pan and stir in the cooked bacon bits. Press down on the vegetables so they form an even layer. Crack each egg into a small ramekin and pour slowly it over the vegetables so that the yolk doesn’t break. Repeat with the rest of the eggs, cracking and pouring each egg over the hash, one at a time. Sprinkle the eggs with additional salt and pepper and parmesan cheese. Return to the oven and bake until the whites of the eggs are set, but the yolks are still loose, between 12-15 minutes. Sprinkle with additional cheese.

Makes 3-4 servings, depending on how hung over you are from Saturday night.

10 Responses to “Baked Eggs with Bacon, Squash, and Kale Hash”

  1. sassiey2k January 27, 2014 at 1:32 am #

    Thanks for posting this recipe

  2. francenestanley January 27, 2014 at 3:59 am #

    This sounds delicious. It would be equally good for a main meal. Of course, I love all the ingredients already. I can just picture you eating it in your pajamas.

  3. sophiebowns January 27, 2014 at 7:12 am #

    This sounds amazing! I adore eggs!

  4. D.J. Paris January 27, 2014 at 7:51 pm #

    As the recipient of the dish described above, I will attest to it’s goodness.

  5. Stacey January 28, 2014 at 12:41 am #

    Ok, that’s a little weird…I eat EXACTLY the same thing(s) for breakfast – oatmeal & dried fruit in the winter and granola & yogurt in the summer.

  6. Pattie January 28, 2014 at 5:10 am #

    This is what I am making this weekend. Yumness!

    • Beth Somers February 17, 2014 at 9:12 pm #

      Pattie, did you make it? If so, please let me know what you thought!

  7. Pamela Waterman (@BracesFriendly) January 28, 2014 at 6:18 pm #

    Sounds delicious and *tender* – the two main perks I always want for braces-friendly eating. Do you have any tips for easily cutting up butternut squash? Thanks for posting!

    • Beth Somers February 17, 2014 at 9:10 pm #

      I just cut up a butternut today. Here’s what I do:

      Peel the whole thing first. Using a sharp chef knife, cut the very top and bottom off of the squash (like you would a pineapple). Cut off the longer portion of the squash to separate from the seeded body. Stand the longer portion up and cut through it vertically. Turn each each half long cut side down on the cutting board. It now sits stably on the cutting board and is easy to cut into whatever shapes/sizes you would like. Stand the seeded body portion up and cut through it vertically. Scoop out all seeds and strings and cut the same as above. I hope this helps! Having a large, sharp knife really makes it easier!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 11,856 other followers

