Reconnecting With My Knife

12 Nov

Every time I hear them, the following comments make me chortle:

  • “Wow, you must have some amazing meals at home!”
  • “Does you guys just, like, cook, like, all the time?”
  • “I’ll bet your weeknight dinners regularly consist of hearty slabs of fois gras covered in caviar, you lucky duck! How do you stay so skinny???*”

When a new acquaintance says something along these lines, I flash back over the “meals” I’ve recently eaten at home; leftover congealed mac n cheese of the powdered cheese family, bowls of raisin bran (yes, for dinner), a few slices of lunch meat and a snack sized Snickers bar. Does this sound like what two classically trained chefs would eat at home?

See, I’m making a career for myself in the world of baking and pastry, and Jon, my very handsome live-in boyfriend has been cooking professionally for years. Between the two of us, you’d think we would be able to pull off a better-than-decent meal at home, but that’s something of a rarity. I work a fairly standard Monday through Friday 9-5 job, and he pretty much busts his ass every day of the week on the opposite side of the clock. We barely get 5 minutes to converse with one another, let alone build a dinner together, and on the rare occasions when the stars all align and we do get to eat at home, at the same time? Well, who wants to deal with dirty dishes when we can just lay on the couch and watch Dexter and  Bitchin’ Kitchen? I have a pizza joint and a Thai take-away on speed dial, and we order in.

Here’s the thing. I love cooking when I have someone to cook for. Good conversation over a thoughtful meal makes doing dishes by hand worthwhile. A couple of glasses of wine help, too. So, this blog is my personal attempt at reconnecting with my chef’s knife, my stove, and my mixer. Every week I’m inviting a friend or two over for dinner, or brunch, or Sunday tea, or some yet-to-be discovered eating occasion, and afterwards I’ll be writing about the recipes, or what we drank, or what crazy-awesome shoes my friend was wearing. But mostly, I’ll stick to writing about the food.

Let’s make some tasty stuff!

*Every time someone asks me “how I stay so skinny,” I want to punch them in the face. Come on! No one has every described me as a waif. At a size 8, I could be a lot thinner, and if I didn’t work in the Wilton Test Kitchen, baking and sampling cakes all day, I might be. But I love my job and all the eating it entails, so I try to practice moderation and not eat THE ENTIRE CAKE.  And since when is it okay to comment on a stranger’s physique anyway? Oh, I also have oatmeal with raisins most mornings for breakfast, and I think that helps. The fiber keeps me full until the first cake is cooled enough to be cut and sampled.  And on the days when I have to eat a lot of cake, and maybe also some cookies and brownies? I skip lunch, or maybe just have a little steamed broccoli. You too can employ the policy of eating in moderation! You can eat a bunch of sugar and be a beefy-legged size 8!

Ugh. Shut up about my weight already. Just shove this éclair in your damn mouth and shut up.

But really, I mean it! Let’s make some tasty stuff!

3 Responses to “Reconnecting With My Knife”

  1. Matt November 14, 2011 at 6:15 am #

    Welcome back! You’re talent for the written word is exceeded only by your gift of creating great dessert. Not many people can get me to eat cake or go blind reading shit on my phone. You do both.

  2. Britt Fail December 26, 2011 at 8:37 pm #

    I admire your piece of work, appreciate it for all the interesting content .

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cook Corn On The Cob | How to Cook Corn on The Cob - December 7, 2011

    […] Mindful Tastes – Scrumptious 30 Minute Meal Recipeswallopingteaspoon […]

Leave a Reply

