The Gluten Free Diet – Part 3

21 Jul

 

20140708_203258I didn’t even bother to take a new photo of my flour canisters today. My weight has stayed exactly the same since last Monday.

I was thrilled to see the number on the scale read the same today as it did last Monday. This week was very unordinary in the best way. I traveled to London for work, touring the fabulous food halls of lux department stores like Marks and Spencer and Selfridges and sampling cakes from Peggy Porschen’s Parlour.  I didn’t see a single vegetable that wasn’t fried other than peas, and I’m not entirely sure that peas, in all of their starchy glory, count as veg.

On my trip, I also realized something very important. My croissant consumption goes up exponentially the closer I get to France. Who knew? 

In short, I ate a lot and really enjoyed myself, which is what I set out to do. 

So how did I combat a bump up in weight? I got physical.

I spent 2 straight days working on my feet, and it didn’t hurt that the bake shop we were using was very hot, teetering on the edge of sweatshop. That has to count as some kind of low-impact cardio. 

Outside of the kitchen, I walked. And I walked. And then I walked some more. I’m not much of a planner when I travel, preferring to amble aimlessly, discovering things as I happen upon them. I could walk for hours in Chicago, just taking in the scenery. Put me in a new place, and I could walk for days. I wish that I had a FitBit so that I knew exactly how far I went. I’m betting that I did somewhere between 8-10 miles on Friday alone. 

The morning after I ate a Cornish pasty and chips for dinner, I woke up early to use the hotel gym. The display showed Imperial measurements. I’m not great at math, so I’m just assuming that 2 kilometers is about 12 miles, and that i ran it in less than 30 minutes, making it my longest and fastest run of all time! (Just let me have my delusions. I’m not hurting anyone.)

As soon as I got home, I made trips to the farmers market and grocery store to stock up on fresh produce, lean proteins, and all of the good, healthy foods I need to make fast, easy, healthy meals during the work week. 

Life is too short to deny ourselves all of the time, which is why I thoroughly enjoyed my trip. And now, it’s right back on track. I’m looking forward to losing a little more this week! 

 

2 Responses to “The Gluten Free Diet – Part 3”

  1. Tina Jui September 5, 2014 at 10:57 am #

    Sounds like you had a great trip to London 🙂 I just moved here about a year ago from the US, and still always find myself walking everywhere! And I know what you mean about the increased croissant consumption… haha. I’ve even started grilling them, which makes them sooo tasty (you can find a recipe on my site if you are interested)!

  2. YourTablecloth September 15, 2014 at 12:39 pm #

    Good for you that you balanced out the croissant with some healthy food. It makes the croissant worth it and you don’t feel guilty!

Leave a Reply

